logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
bkrasso  
#1 Posted : Monday, July 2, 2007 2:20:32 AM(UTC)
bkrasso
Rank: Newbie

Reputation:

Groups: Member
Joined: 9/7/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1

Was wondering if yall have .NET 3.0 already available?? Thanks.
Smiling4ever  
#2 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2007 8:41:08 AM(UTC)
Smiling4ever
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Administration, Member
Joined: 1/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 348
Man

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
No, still it is not available.

Tell me what's new in ASP.NET when you use .NET 3.0 or 3.5 ...
Noman Dormosh

HostingFest
LogicalGeekBoy  
#3 Posted : Monday, July 30, 2007 12:40:55 AM(UTC)
LogicalGeekBoy
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/18/2006(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: UK

I'd like to use .NET 3 too, in particular the Workflow Foundation. You can see details here: http://www.netfx3.com/ and here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.NET_Framework. Basically, .NET 3 is the .NET 2 Framework plus some extra technologies: Windows Communication Foundation, Windows Presentation Foundation, Windows Workflow Foundation and Windows CardSpace.

.NET 3 is fully released now and 3.5 is currently in beta. I'm only interested in 3.0 at the moment.

Thoughts?
The world's most powerful Batch Image Processing application.
Smiling4ever  
#4 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2007 12:19:17 AM(UTC)
Smiling4ever
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Administration, Member
Joined: 1/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 348
Man

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
LogicalGeekBoy wrote:
I'd like to use .NET 3 too, in particular the Workflow Foundation. You can see details here: http://www.netfx3.com/ and here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/.NET_Framework. Basically, .NET 3 is the .NET 2 Framework plus some extra technologies: Windows Communication Foundation, Windows Presentation Foundation, Windows Workflow Foundation and Windows CardSpace.

.NET 3 is fully released now and 3.5 is currently in beta. I'm only interested in 3.0 at the moment.

Thoughts?


Yes, i understand all of that.

I want to know what are the addons for ASP.NET
Noman Dormosh

HostingFest
LogicalGeekBoy  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2007 12:25:06 AM(UTC)
LogicalGeekBoy
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/18/2006(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: UK

Quote:
I want to know what are the addons for ASP.NET


As far as I know, there are no ASP.NET specific add-ons. The .NET 3.0 upgrade will just provide the new technologies I listed above that you can use as part of your ASP.NET projects but these can also be used in Windows desktop apps. Does that help?

Andy
The world's most powerful Batch Image Processing application.
LogicalGeekBoy  
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 31, 2007 12:27:45 AM(UTC)
LogicalGeekBoy
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/18/2006(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: UK

Forgot to mention: I my case, I'd like to use the Workflow foundation to control the flow of pages and easily add functionality to particular actions by modifying the workflow.
The world's most powerful Batch Image Processing application.
LogicalGeekBoy  
#7 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2007 10:36:09 AM(UTC)
LogicalGeekBoy
Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Member
Joined: 1/18/2006(UTC)
Posts: 25
Location: UK

I've been looking at the new LINQ features of .NET 3.5 and they are really cool. I know this is only in BETA 2 at the moment but it is due for release in February 2008. What is the current thinking? Will you be supporting this when it is released? Any chance you could set up a server for those of us that are trying out these new technologies? I'm currently working on a webapp that uses .NET 3.5 (it won't be released until after 3.5 is released) and would like to be able to show a client some stuff before then.

I also noticed that crystaltech.com are offering .NET 3.5 beta 2 hosting.

Any thoughts?
The world's most powerful Batch Image Processing application.
Smiling4ever  
#8 Posted : Friday, August 10, 2007 10:46:05 AM(UTC)
Smiling4ever
Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Administration, Member
Joined: 1/3/2006(UTC)
Posts: 348
Man

Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
The problem is not in supporting or not supporting .NET 3.5. This can be done by installing the framework. The main problem is that how you would be able to switch between versions in HELM? HELM does not support that. Every client should contact us to do that manually and that will cause 10-15 secs downtime for each switch...

We are thinking server side while you are thinking client side :)
Noman Dormosh

HostingFest
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.